Appreciation…..A Robin’s Nest (Haiku)

A moment to share and to show my appreciation.

When I was working on this haiku, I couldn’t help but think of a good friend of mine, Kaie. He was the one who spent time trying to teach me how to write fix form poetry, well, poetry period. I remember the first poem that I shared with him and his response was and I quote, “What is this, a riddle?” I couldn’t help but to laugh. He said in such a constructive way that it encouraged me to go back to the drawing board. The advice that he gave me was to try to work on my imagery. Paint a picture. Poetry express feelings and emotions. Now I try to invoke feeling and emotions in each poem that I write. I am still working on the craft of writing and it is out of the love that I have for words. Along with the respect that I have for the power of words. I hope that my efforts are correct with writing this haiku, if not, I am sure that I will hear from Kaie. So I would like to share with you, “A Robin’s Nest” and I hope that you are able to take time out to give me feedback on this poem. All that I know about writing is self-taught or it came from what good friends like Kaie Omodele and Jorge Landrian who took time out to teach me. If you feel that something is not right with it or if the syllable count is off please share. I am looking forward to your advice and constructive criticism. Thanks in advance.

 

A Robin’s Nest (Haiku)
By Drako Sullivan
Copyright 2017

 

A Robin’s nest tight.

Fierce winds destroy twig by twig.

Robin’s nest broken.

 

Writing this poem, I was thinking about how single mother’s fight to keep their home together and do all they can to provide for their little ones. But, somehow this cruel world find some way to break that home. I can only imagine the pain and the stress that a single mother has to endure. I feel your struggle and I encourage all single mothers to keep up their hard work because it is your effort that make this world a better place and inspire men like me to do better and be better. I love you all! So keep doing what you are doing, especially you, Momma……I love you!

 

Drako

Leave a comment